PRSSA Diversity

Enriching the Future of our Profession

As future public relations professionals, we must understand how people with differences work together to communicate effectively. By fostering Chapters with diverse membership and leadership, we can build stronger relationships with the professional community and enrich the public relations industry as a whole.

The definition of diversity is broad. PRSSA embraces all individuals regardless of background, culture, education, major, age, disability, gender and sexual orientation. PRSSA recognizes the importance of different experiences, perspectives and voices in making a viable Society that aids the profession.

Initiatives like the Dr. F.H. Teahan Diversity Award encourage Chapters to seek diversity among its leaders and membership.

The Diversity Initiative

In 2005, members of the PRSSA National Committee adopted the Diversity Initiative (PDF). The Initiative, which was updated in 2014, encourages Chapters to recruit and retain a diverse membership that is representative of the demographic composition of the Chapter’s college or university. The PRSSA Diversity Toolkit (PDF) provides Chapters with guidelines for supporting diversity on their campuses.

Diversity and PRSA

PRSSA policies on diversity reflect the policies of PRSA. For case studies, articles, and other news and information on diversity-related issues, see PRSA’s diversity webpages

HBCU and HACU Chapters

PRSSA is proud to have 15 Chapters at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) and 47 Chapters at Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU). HBCU were established before 1964 to serve Black and African American community. HACU include more than 450 colleges and universities committed to Hispanic students seeking higher education in the United States, Puerto Rico, Latin America, Spain and Portugal.

HBCU Chapters

  • Alabama State University
  • Bowie State University
  • Delaware State University
  • Florida A&M University
  • Florida Memorial University
  • Hampton University
  • Hofstra University
  • Howard University 
  • Southern University A&M College
  • West Virginia State University
  • West Virginia University
HACU Chapters
  • Arizona State University 
  • Baruch College
  • Baylor University
  • California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
  • California State University, Bakersfield
  • California State University, Dominguez Hills
  • California State University, East Bay
  • California State University, Fresno
  • California State University, Fullerton
  • California State University, Long Beach
  • California State University, Northridge
  • California State University, Sacramento
  • California State University, San Bernardino
  • City College of New York, CUNY
  • Colorado State University
  • Columbia College Chicago
  • DePaul University
  • Eastern Washington University
  • Florida International University
  • Georgia College & State University
  • Lipscomb University
  • Marist College
  • Marquette University
  • Michigan State University
  • Northern Arizona University
  • Ohio University
  • Rhode Island College
  • Santa Clara University
  • Southern Adventist University
  • St. Edward's University
  • Texas A&M University
  • Texas State University, San Marcos
  • Texas Tech University
  • University of Dayton
  • University of Delaware
  • University of Houston
  • University of Kansas
  • University of New Mexico
  • University of North Texas
  • University of Scranton
  • University of St. Thomas
  • University of Texas at Arlington
  • University of Texas at San Antonio
  • University of the Pacific
  • University of Toledo
  • University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Washington State University
  • West Texas A&M University
  • Westminster College



For more information visit:

PRSA Advocacy Pages

PRSA Diversity Pages

PRSA Ethics Pages