PR Program Certification

Certification in Education for Academic Programs in Public Relations

Established in 1989 as a voluntary program, Certification in Education for Public Relations offers academic programs the opportunity to have an outside evaluation team review and endorse undergraduate and master’s level programs for meeting eight standards (PDF) in curriculum, faculty, students, resources and facilities, assessment, professional affiliations, relationships with the total unit and the university and diversity and global perspectives.

The CEPR Process

Through the PRSA Educational Affairs Committee, a certification review process is conducted for undergraduate and graduate public relations programs. The review is administered by two Accredited PRSA members, a full-time educator and an APR-credentialed practicing professional who examine the school’s curriculum, resources, facilities and university support of its programs.

The 2–3 day site visit includes meetings with faculty, students, administrators and key external constituencies. Reviewers contact internship providers, employers of graduates and other local practicing professionals to assess alumni from the public relations program and to ask former students about their educational experience.

Become CEPR Certified

To learn more about the standards, criteria and review process, download the CEPR Guidelines (PDF) . Questions may be addressed to Executive Director Jeneen Garcia and CEPR Coordinator Susan Gonders.

Schools that currently hold PRSA Certification are listed below.

Master’s Degree Programs

  • Ball State University-Indiana (Public Relations)
  • Dublin Institute of Technology-Ireland (Public Relations)
  • Dublin Institute of Technology-Ireland (Public Affairs)
  • Quinnipiac University-Connecticut (Public Relations)
  • Rowan University-New Jersey (Public Relations)
  • Syracuse University-New York (Public Relations)

Bachelor’s Degree Programs


  • Universidad Argentina de la Empresa – Argentina (Public Relations)
  • Universidad Argentina de la Empresa – Argentina (Global Communications)
  • Universidad de Medellin – Colombia
  • Universidad de San Martin de Porres – Peru
  • University of Waikato – New Zealand


  • University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa


  • California State University at Fullerton


  • Quinnipiac University


  • University of Florida


  • Valdosta State University


  • Illinois State University


  • Ball State University
  • Indiana University at Bloomington


  • Drake University
  • Iowa State University of Science and Technology


  • Eastern Kentucky University
  • Western Kentucky University


  • Loyola University, New Orleans


  • University of Maryland at College Park


  • Ferris State University
  • Wayne State University


  • Southeast Missouri State University
  • University of Central Missouri

New Jersey

  • Monmouth University
  • Rowan University
  • Seton Hall University

New York

  • Syracuse University

North Carolina

  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte


  • Kent State University
  • Ohio Northern University
  • University of Cincinnati


  • Temple University


  • Lee University
  • Union University
  • University of Memphis


  • Brigham Young University


  • Radford University
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


  • University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh