Bateman Case Study Competition

Enhance Your Education

The Bateman Case Study Competition is PRSSA’s premier national case study competition for public relations students and gives you an opportunity to apply your classroom education and internship experiences to create and implement a full public relations campaign.

2018 Campaign

PRSSA challenges participants of the Bateman Case Study Competition to develop a campaign on behalf of With Purpose, to bring awareness to the necessity of safe and effective treatment options for children with cancer in America.

The goal of the 2018 Bateman Competition is to increase awareness of the problems surrounding childhood cancer treatment in the U.S Participating teams will achieve this goal, in part, evaluating the current awareness level of childhood cancer treatment and will find creative ways to recruit young people to engage in the organization.

Competition Judging Results

PRSSA Headquarters received 84 entries for the PRSSA 2018 Bateman Case Study Competition. Of these submissions, 20 entries received honorable mention and three were chosen as finalists to present their campaigns to a panel of judges on May 14–15 in Charleston, South Carolina. The results are below:


  • Louisiana State University — First Place (summary)
  • Kent State University, KSU Gold — Second Place
  • California State University, Long Beach — Third Place

Lousiana State University Bateman Team

Honorable Mentions

  • Chapman University – Team 2
  • DePaul University – Fighting Five
  • Indiana University
  • Miami University of Ohio
  • Minnesota State University Moorhead – Dragons Fight Cancer
  • Minnesota State University Moorhead – The Fierce Five
  • Ohio University
  • Oklahoma Christian University
  • Olivet Nazarene University
  • San Jose State University
  • St. John Fisher College
  • Syracuse University
  • Texas State University
  • University of Alabama
  • University of Florida
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • University of South Carolina — McKissick Communications
  • University of South Florida
  • University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
  • Washington State University – Team 1

Thank you to all teams for participating. Although this is a Competition, the main purpose is to provide a learning opportunity. PRSSA Headquarters hopes all teams gained valuable experience from their hard work. Score sheets will be sent to all teams by Monday, April 30. If you have any questions, please contact Executive Director Jeneen Garcia at (212) 460-1466.

PRSA/PRSSA would like to thank the first phase judges of the Competition for their time and expertise.

  • Edward R. Albanesi, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Jill R. Alexander, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Arshia Anwer, Ph. D.
  • Vicki S. Bagwell, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Mary Deming Barber, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Don Bates, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Richard J. Batyko, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Debra L. Bethard-Caplick, MBA, APR
  • David W. Brown
  • Sandy Charet
  • Joseph E. Cohen, APR
  • Erik Deutsch
  • Christina Divigard
  • Dawn M. Doty, APR
  • Michael M. Durand
  • Henry Feintuch
  • David Graubard
  • Heather Harder
  • West Herford
  • Wilma Ruth King
  • Gina Pesko Laughlin
  • Christopher Lukach, APR
  • Danielle Paleafico
  • Heather L. Radi-Bermudez
  • Deborah Radman, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • James M. Shackelford
  • Cristin Urban
  • Quenta P. Vettel, APR
  • Jody Weiss Venturoni
  • Susan Walton, MA, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • Rosalynne D. Whitaker-Heck, Ed.D., APR
  • Brenda J. Wrigley, APR

Competition Updates

Competition Materials

Competition Scope

The Bateman Competition doesn’t ask you to simply draft a proposal. In teams of four or five, you are challenged to research, plan, implement and evaluate a comprehensive public relations campaign. Research and planning are completed November through February, teams implement February through March and final entries are due to PRSSA Headquarters in April.

After an extensive judging process executed by PRSA members and other professionals, three finalists are chosen to present their campaigns to sponsor representatives. The first place team receives $3,500 and a trophy; second place receives $2,500 and a plaque; and third place receives $1,500 and a plaque. All teams are recognized at the PRSSA National Conference.

Past Competitions

Whether you are new to the competition or have participated before, review these past campaigns to see the creativity, thoroughness and strategic thinking that go into winning campaigns each year.

  • 2017 Campaign to Change Direction
  • 2016 Student Veterans of America (SVA)
  • 2015 Home Matters
  • 2014 Fiserv
  • 2013 Raising Awareness of the Consequences of Youth Bullying
  • 2012 United Way Worldwide
  • 2011 Ally Financial
  • 2010 U.S. Census Bureau

About the Competition

First established as the National Case Study in 1973 and later renamed to honor the late Carroll J. Bateman, APR, it challenges teams of students to research, plan, implement and evaluate a public relations campaign for an actual client. More than 75 teams enter the competition each year, giving students real-world experience that can translate to resume additions, portfolio pieces and even jobs. After an extensive judging process, three finalists are chosen to present their campaigns to the sponsor, who receives the right to ideas presented. If your company is interested in enhancing the educational experience of public relations students while also benefitting from their hard work, knowledge and resources, find out more about becoming a Competition sponsor.