PRSA Health Academy Grant

Deadline: August 23, 2011 Deadline Extended: August 29, 2011

Award: Free Conference Registration

This grant pays the registration fees for one student to attend the PRSSA National Conference. The winner is invited to also attend the PRSA Health Academy session at the PRSA International Conference.


You must be a PRSSA member in good standing with an interest in health care public relations to be eligible for this grant.


To apply, submit the following materials:

  • A completed application form (Word or PDF) with a signature from your Faculty or Professional Adviser.
  • A letter of recommendation from your Chapter Faculty or Professional Adviser.
  • An essay of 250 words or fewer that demonstrates your interest in pursuing a career in health care public relations.
  • A press release of one page or more announcing your selection as the 2011 grant winner. See an example from the PRSA media room.

Make sure all materials are error free and thoroughly proofread. All application materials must be received at PRSSA Headquarters (not just postmarked) by August 29, 2011. Incomplete or late applications will not be considered.

PRSSA — Health Academy Grant,
33 Maiden Lane, 11th Fl, New York, NY 10038.

About PRSA Health Academy

Established in 1973, PRSA's Health Academy provides a forum for health care public relations professionals to interact and share ideas with their peers. Health Academy is PRSA’s largest Professional Interest Section with close to 800 members who represent a wide variety of health care-related organizations, including but not limited to hospitals, pharmaceutical companies, insurance companies, health education and research organizations and public relations agencies. Health Academy programs and resources include an annual Spring Conference, regional Health Intersection events and virtual teleseminars, as well as e-newsletters and a comprehensive website.

Previous Winners

  • 2011 Hannah Rankin, Marquette University
  • 2010 Kristen Hemmings, Drake University
  • 2009 Kristina Hunter, Indiana University
  • 2009 Natalyn Giverson, Ohio Northern University