PRSA Public Affairs & Government Section Grant

Deadline: August 23, 2011 Deadline Extended: August 29, 2011

Award: Free Conference Registration

This grant pays the registration fees for one student to attend the PRSSA National Conference. The winner is invited to also attend the PRSA Public Affairs & Government Section session at the PRSA International Conference.


You must be a current, paid PRSSA member with an interest in government public relations. You need to submit the following materials (additional materials will not be considered):

Application Requirements

To apply, submit the following materials:

  • A completed application form (Word or PDF), with a signature (signed, not typed) from your Chapter Faculty or Professional Adviser.
  • A letter of recommendation from your Chapter Faculty or Professional Adviser (including his or her signature signed, not typed).
  • An original essay of 250 words or fewer written by you that demonstrates your interest in pursuing a career in government public relations.
  • A draft press release of no less than one page announcing your selection as the 2011 grant winner. Example:

All materials (except signatures) must be typed. Incomplete applications will not be accepted. All application materials must be received by PRSSA Headquarters (not just postmarked) by Aug. 29, 2011.

Mail to:
PRSSA Public Affairs & Government Grant
33 Maiden Lane, 11th Fl, New York, NY 10038

About the PRSA Public Affairs & Government Section

The PRSA Public Affairs and Government (PAG) Section strives to enhance the overall knowledge and skills of public affairs and communications professionals in all levels of government and branches of the military, as well as those from counseling firms, corporations and associations who are responsible for communicating with various audiences on public policy or public safety issues. With more than 700 members, the Section provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and approaches used to successfully participate in the public affairs, government and military arenas.

Past Winner

  • 2011 Abigail Stollar, University of Delaware